IPv6 design, deployment, standards, and best practices.
User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts:
10617
Joined:
Mon Dec 06, 2004 6:46 pm
Certs:
CCNA

IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:23 am

What sites are IPv6 capable? I've been "DiG"ing for AAAA records and haven't gotten any IPv6 responses yet.

Code: Select all
H:\>dig @4.2.2.1 AAAA www.google.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> @4.2.2.1 AAAA www.google.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 693
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.google.com.                        IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.google.com.         25221   IN      CNAME   www.l.google.com.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
l.google.com.           493     IN      SOA     ns3.google.com. dns-admin.google
.com. 1440065 900 900 1800 60

;; Query time: 25 msec
;; SERVER: 4.2.2.1#53(4.2.2.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Jan 26 10:22:49 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 102

josh
Junior Member
Posts:
51
Joined:
Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:44 am

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:32 am


User avatar
ibarrere
Cisco Inferno
Posts:
10283
Joined:
Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:58 am

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:34 am

Huh, yeah, I get the same results... probably something I'm not understanding about DNS. If you dig for ipv6.google.com it works. :)

Here's a good list of stuff: http://www.sixxs.net/wiki/IPv6_Enabled_Websites

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:30 pm

Steve wrote:What sites are IPv6 capable? I've been "DiG"ing for AAAA records and haven't gotten any IPv6 responses yet.
[code]H:\>dig @4.2.2.1 AAAA www.google.com


dig ipv6.google.com instead

User avatar
Dinger
Post Whore
Posts:
1397
Joined:
Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:16 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCNA:Sec, MCSE

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:24 pm

mellowd wrote:
Steve wrote:What sites are IPv6 capable? I've been "DiG"ing for AAAA records and haven't gotten any IPv6 responses yet.
[code]H:\>dig @4.2.2.1 AAAA http://www.google.com


dig ipv6.google.com instead


Google, Yahoo, etc have their IPv6 setup this way because of a (small) subset of users with broken/mis-configured IPv6 setups; normally you'd have an A record pointing to the IPv4 addy, and an AAAA record for the same name pointing to the IPv6 address. However, in this situation, broken clients (i.e., clients that think they have a working IPv6 setup, but really don't) would try the AAAA/IPv6 site first, getting timeouts and frustrated. See http://www.fud.no/ipv6/ for more information.
"A problem well stated is a problem half solved". (Charles Kettering)

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:43 pm

Yeah my answer was a bit too quick.

Going to the RIPE IPv6 training thing tomorrow, let's hope I learn a bit more

cs-cam
Junior Member
Posts:
61
Joined:
Tue Jun 29, 2010 9:21 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:29 pm

Code: Select all
$ dig networking-forum.com aaaa

; <<>> DiG 9.6.0-APPLE-P2 <<>> networking-forum.com aaaa
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 54374
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;networking-forum.com.      IN   AAAA

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
networking-forum.com.   866   IN   SOA   ns1.spish.net. steve.spish.net. 2010091204 14400 7200 3600000 900

;; Query time: 443 msec
;; SERVER: 139.130.4.4#53(139.130.4.4)
;; WHEN: Thu Jan 27 07:28:45 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 93


Come on Steve... ;)

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts:
10617
Joined:
Mon Dec 06, 2004 6:46 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:37 pm

My hosting provider doesn't offer IPv6 addressing yet. I should offer to help them beta test it.

User avatar
ibarrere
Cisco Inferno
Posts:
10283
Joined:
Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:58 am

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:53 pm

You really should, I think I suggested something about that many months ago. :)

I would gladly contribute some time!

User avatar
jmillermo
Member
Posts:
177
Joined:
Tue May 18, 2010 5:03 am
Certs:
CCNP

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:57 pm

I love facebook's address:

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.v6.facebook.com. 2599 IN AAAA 2620:0:1cfe:face:b00c::3

User avatar
baybars
Ultimate Member
Posts:
683
Joined:
Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:53 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCNA Security, 642-902

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:31 pm

I'm ashamed to say that Itihs was the first time I've ever used "dig". It's cool :)

User avatar
Project2501
Post Whore
Posts:
6158
Joined:
Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:44 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: IPv6 capable

Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:20 am

I'd be down with NF being IPv6 but Australian ISPs are behind what's actually needed. Not that many are there by the sounds of things.

I'll be there with bells on when my ISP goes IPv6. Hopefully I'll be involved in the transition ;)
- Pete

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: IPv6 capable

Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:25 am

btw, learned this morning. You have to ask google to resolve via IPv6 for yourself

More info here: http://www.google.com/intl/en/ipv6/faq.html#request

IPv6 day, June 8th I think it is, most big sites will resolve IPv6 for the entire day. This ensures users are aware that any issues getting to these places are down to them or the ISP, not the site in question.


But why is this so? I've yet to have that much IPv6 real life experience, but it's said that if a site resolves into an IPv6 and IPv4 address, the host will choose the IPv6 address first.

This means if your IPv6 stack has problems, you'll never get to google. The only way to 'test' is to specifically go to the IPv6 google site

comptech
Junior Member
Posts:
55
Joined:
Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:39 pm
Certs:
CCNA, 642-902

Re: IPv6 capable

Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:50 am

mellowd wrote:This means if your IPv6 stack has problems, you'll never get to google. The only way to 'test' is to specifically go to the IPv6 google site


This isn't exactly the case, what happens depends on how the client reacts. For some it may just add a slight delay while the IPv6 connection times out but other clients don't handle it so well and may never fall back to IPv4.

You can go here to test if you have broken IPv6 connectivity or not:
http://test-ipv6.com/

Also, here's what Google's www AAAA looks like when you're white listed (for those curious):
Code: Select all
; <<>> DiG 9.5.1-P2.1 <<>> aaaa www.google.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 57107
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.google.com.                        IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.google.com.         67343   IN      CNAME   www.l.google.com.
www.l.google.com.       112     IN      AAAA    2001:4860:b007::93


Here's the site I use to browse new IPv6 sites:
Sixy.ch: directory of IPv6 enabled web sites

User avatar
jayropec
New Member
Posts:
45
Joined:
Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:51 am
Certs:
CCNA

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:58 pm

Hey there, I know Im some n00b, so bear with me please.... whats "dig"? First time I hear about it :P

comptech
Junior Member
Posts:
55
Joined:
Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:39 pm
Certs:
CCNA, 642-902

Re: IPv6 capable

Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:25 pm

jayropec wrote:Hey there, I know Im some n00b, so bear with me please.... whats "dig"? First time I hear about it :P


Dig is a command line DNS lookup tool for *nix systems that is similar to nslookup but usually more useful.

From the MAN page about Dig:
A flexible tool for interrogating DNS name servers. It performs DNS lookups and displays the answers that are returned from the name server(s) that were queried. Most DNS administrators use dig to troubleshoot DNS problems because of its flexibility, ease of use and clarity of output. Other lookup tools tend to have less functionality than dig.
Dig MAN page

User avatar
jayropec
New Member
Posts:
45
Joined:
Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:51 am
Certs:
CCNA

Re: IPv6 capable

Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:19 pm

comptech wrote:
jayropec wrote:Hey there, I know Im some n00b, so bear with me please.... whats "dig"? First time I hear about it :P


Dig is a command line DNS lookup tool for *nix systems that is similar to nslookup but usually more useful.

From the MAN page about Dig:
A flexible tool for interrogating DNS name servers. It performs DNS lookups and displays the answers that are returned from the name server(s) that were queried. Most DNS administrators use dig to troubleshoot DNS problems because of its flexibility, ease of use and clarity of output. Other lookup tools tend to have less functionality than dig.
Dig MAN page


I see, thank you very much!

User avatar
DanC
Ultimate Member
Posts:
851
Joined:
Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:01 am
Certs:
CCNA, CCNA-W, CCNP

Re: IPv6 capable

Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:50 am

jmillermo wrote:I love facebook's address:

;; ANSWER SECTION:
http://www.v6.facebook.com. 2599 IN AAAA 2620:0:1cfe:face:b00c::3


That is too cool! :D

Techogav
New Member
Posts:
1
Joined:
Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:19 pm

Re: IPv6 capable

Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:35 pm

On the subject of IPv6 capable, I am wondering about the client end of capability! Can Windows XP SP2 handle v6 IP addressing? My current DHCP server provides requested IP addresses in the IPv4 format. If it provided these in the new IPv6 format, would I have to do anything to ensure my local system will accept them?

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10505
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: IPv6 capable

Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:56 am

you have to run an IPv6 stack on the box.
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

'
Next

Return to IPv6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests