General technical discussions.
ncarlini
New Member
Posts:
42
Joined:
Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:01 pm
Certs:
Microsoft

Cisco and Nortel VLAN

Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:08 pm

Hello everyone, I have an ASA 5520 and Nortel 5510 Switch. I have create 5 Vlans in the ASA and in the Switch. I'm having trouble understanding the nortel vlan tagging, etc.

This is what i want to do:
-Configured 5 vlans in ASA por 4
-ASA port 4 to Nortel port 1
-Nortel Port 2 -> PC on VLAN2
-Nortel Port 3 -> PC on VLAN3
etc.
The routing between VLANs needs to be done from the ASA because I need to setup some security.

So I need to know how to configure the ports in nortel. On the PVID do I set the VLAN number? in Tagging I have: Untag all, Tag all, untag PVID Only, tag PVID only. How about PORT1? I have trie all but I"m not able to ping the ASA interface for the VLAN.

Any tips would be great.
Thanks

ncarlini
New Member
Posts:
42
Joined:
Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:01 pm
Certs:
Microsoft

Re: Cisco and Nortel VLAN

Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:03 am

So testing I was able to partially make this work:

Nortel Port 1 (connected to ASA): Untag PVID Only
Nortel Port 2 -> PVID VLAN2
Nortel Port 3-> PVID VLAN3
etc

I can ping the gateways.

Now, there are new ports: Port 8 "Untag PVID only". I have a Hyper-V connected to this port. I have configured one of the VMs to use VLAN2 (from the virtual switch). Here is the intereseting part.

I can ping VLAN2 gateway from the VM.
I can ping VLAN2 gateway from the PC in port2.
I can ping the VM from the PC in port2.
I cannot ping the PC from the VM.
Its like a one-way ping grom the VM to the PC. They are both in the same subnet.

Any thoughts?

ncarlini
New Member
Posts:
42
Joined:
Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:01 pm
Certs:
Microsoft

Re: Cisco and Nortel VLAN

Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:14 am

Windows firewall :P

'

Return to General Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 23 guests