RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP, MPLS, VTP, STP.
User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:03 pm

He works in trading.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:04 pm

just2cool wrote:I'd break NDA if I told you anything more.


Good post, but I hate this comment.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

Langly
Member
Posts:
224
Joined:
Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:59 pm
Certs:
CCENT

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:22 pm

Vito_Corleone wrote:
just2cool wrote:I'd break NDA if I told you anything more.


Good post, but I hate this comment.


Yeah, the NDA stuff bleh. If 3k's are going to support netflow in the future, I would really really consider going that route in the future.

User avatar
that1guy15
Post Whore
Posts:
3224
Joined:
Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:12 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:30 pm

Sorry I have not been active on this topic, My focus has been shifted to our wireless mesh deploy. Im posting this link becuase its relevent and a good source (Greg Ferro) and looks to apply to my situation. Also I dont want to loose the link :)

http://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/ ... -get-fancy
http://blog.movingonesandzeros.net/

javentre
Post Whore
Posts:
1971
Joined:
Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:38 pm

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:48 pm

If I had to consider the use of a 3750 in the data center, I'd expand my options to non-Cisco vendors.

I noticed that he omitted Cisco's Catalyst 4900E/M series, which IMO, is a much better choice than a 3750.
Last edited by javentre on Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
http://networking.ventrefamily.com

User avatar
Digitowel
Ultimate Member
Posts:
618
Joined:
Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:54 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S, NP/DP/IP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:50 pm

I couldn't disagree with Greg more. Putting an access switch in your "Data Center" and hanging production traffic off of it isn't a solid idea. The 7k is young and the 6500 is about to collect a retirement check. Cool. With the 2T, Cisco has said it will support the platform for a further 8-10 years. Alright, fair enough. The 7k, regardless of its age, is a scalable product with the focus in the right place. It's not perfect right now, but it's also learning to do new things that customers keep asking for. Growing pains are to be associated with that.
And actually I appreciate MS certified people quite a bit. Not in the " I wish I did what you did" kinda way, but in a "I'm glad you're doing that so I don't have to" kind way. - Infinite ca. 2010

javentre
Post Whore
Posts:
1971
Joined:
Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:38 pm

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:54 pm

If you're building a new Data Center, and don't need service modules or SIP/SPA support, it's tough to pick a 6500 over a 7000.
http://networking.ventrefamily.com

User avatar
mlan
Ultimate Member
Posts:
802
Joined:
Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:55 pm

that1guy15 wrote: [snip] Im posting this link becuase its relevent and a good source (Greg Ferro) and looks to apply to my situation. Also I dont want to loose the link :)

http://searchnetworking.techtarget.com/ ... -get-fancy


Interesting article. We are currently debating collapsing services such as firewall and edge routing back into our 6500 core via service modules, and if we want to continue putting money into that platform. We are looking into modules such as ASA-SM and WiSM2 as part of this decision.

edit: typo
Last edited by mlan on Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:09 pm

3750 stack as a core? Uggggh. Just dealt with that mess yesterday.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
that1guy15
Post Whore
Posts:
3224
Joined:
Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:12 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:16 pm

javentre wrote:If I had to consider the use of a 3750 in the data center, I'd expand my options to non-Cisco vendors.

I noticed that he omitted Cisco's Catalyst 4900E/M series, which IMO, is a much better choice than a 3750.

Unfortunately we have tons of 3750s deployed throughout and so I will have to work with integrating them into the design. I’m pushing though from here out for 4048's for anything in the DC. Ill push the 3750s as far to the access edge as possible.
http://blog.movingonesandzeros.net/

javentre
Post Whore
Posts:
1971
Joined:
Fri Jul 09, 2010 7:38 pm

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:24 pm

that1guy15 wrote:we have tons of 3750s deployed throughout and so I will have to work with integrating them into the design.
If you're looking for a use - ILO/RIB/RLO connectivity, where the very shallow buffers and other drawbacks are a less of an issue, would be my first choice.
http://networking.ventrefamily.com

User avatar
writeerase
Ultimate Member
Posts:
509
Joined:
Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:55 pm
Certs:
CCIE CCNP-S CCDA MCSE RHCT Sec+ A+

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:32 pm

Without a compelling technical reason to change I hope we stick with the 6509s in our core for our upcoming hardware refresh. Drop in some new sups if we have to but I hate to get rid of a rock-solid reliable core just to have something new for the sake of having something new.

We really don't have big bandwidth requirements anyway since most of our traffic is transactional.

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10488
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:05 pm

3750's are like so EOL
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

User avatar
mlan
Ultimate Member
Posts:
802
Joined:
Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:14 pm

ristau5741 wrote:3750's are like so EOL


Not the V2's or the 3750-X's. Expect to see them in the access layer and also in the SMB "core", which I believe the article is hinting at, but it's debatable if 13 server racks is SMB.

Sepiraph
Member
Posts:
244
Joined:
Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:15 am
Certs:
CCNA:Sec/CCNP/CCDP/CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:12 pm

javentre wrote:If I had to consider the use of a 3750 in the data center, I'd expand my options to non-Cisco vendors.

I noticed that he omitted Cisco's Catalyst 4900E/M series, which IMO, is a much better choice than a 3750.


When considering from Cisco, the 3750X stack can be a good choice at the access/distribution layer when the customer doesn't need the extra features and functionality of a 4900. At a cost/port basis it can make a lot of sense, especially at places where a 4900 would be an overkill.
"It can also be argued that DNA is nothing more than a program designed to preserve itself. Life has become more complex in the overwhelming sea of information. And life, when organized into species, relies upon genes to be its memory system."

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:24 pm

Sepiraph wrote:
javentre wrote:If I had to consider the use of a 3750 in the data center, I'd expand my options to non-Cisco vendors.

I noticed that he omitted Cisco's Catalyst 4900E/M series, which IMO, is a much better choice than a 3750.


When considering from Cisco, the 3750X stack can be a good choice at the access/distribution layer when the customer doesn't need the extra features and functionality of a 4900. At a cost/port basis it can make a lot of sense, especially at places where a 4900 would be an overkill.


For user access, they're fine. For DC access, they suck.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
pug
Ultimate Member
Posts:
716
Joined:
Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:23 am

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:06 pm

BBW wrote:Well, I'm going to be the dissenter here. I'm good at that.

I've worked on the 7000s and 5000s and have generally come away with the sense that they aren't ready for prime time; not fully out of beta yet. They lack some basic functionality like NTP, VTP, ability to span ports on channel-connected blades, etc. (unless that's been fixed in recent code revs).

Ben


Is this the span you are referring to? http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switche ... l#wp280122

Also the N5k does support VTP, it just doesn't support being a NTP 'master' as there is no hardware clock. It can peer with anything though.

User avatar
that1guy15
Post Whore
Posts:
3224
Joined:
Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:12 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:43 am

Just to update where Im at...

Im thinking I dont need a 7K for my enviroment. Way to overkill and I will most likley use my firewalls for routing since its crucial VLAN traffic pass through a firewall for inspection before going to another VLAN.

Honestly I have really not seen much of a need for the 7K outside of core routing and layer 3 functionality. Am I missing something?
http://blog.movingonesandzeros.net/

User avatar
Digitowel
Ultimate Member
Posts:
618
Joined:
Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:54 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S, NP/DP/IP

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:36 am

It's a data center switch right now and could be a used as a core switch in the future. Fabric Path is amazing; unifying the data center fabric is what it really does best; today.
And actually I appreciate MS certified people quite a bit. Not in the " I wish I did what you did" kinda way, but in a "I'm glad you're doing that so I don't have to" kind way. - Infinite ca. 2010

Retired Account
Post Whore
Posts:
3512
Joined:
Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:10 pm

Re: Nexus or 6509 for core

Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:08 am

This entire conversation just shows how little experience I have and how unlikely I am to land a job in this field.... you guys are speaking Greek to me lol.

'
PreviousNext

Return to Cisco Routing and Switching

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 48 guests