General off-topic discussions.
User avatar
foxyrick
Member
Posts:
144
Joined:
Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:35 pm
Certs:
IPv6 Sage!

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:00 am

It's fascinating the way our labs have changed over the years, with what was once highly desirable kit now taking a back seat to newer stuff.

I've added a few bits, on the back of selling a few others. Please ignore the décor, my office will be the last room decorated.

Image

The view from my main desk:

Image

Current kit list in the main rack, top to bottom:
ASA5505 (and another arriving tomorrow)
2x 7960 phones and a couple of analogue phones
Digiport 16-port serial console server
Compaq PDU, modified to have twelve individually-switched outputs
Netgear GS724T gigabit switch, with two 1000base-SX SPFs
2621XM with WIC-2T
2620XM with NM-8A/S and 2x WIC-1T (Frame Relay Switch)
2960-24TT
2x 3750V2-24PS, with three GLC-T SFPs
3550-48, with two 1000base-SX GBICs
2811 with NME-CUE, WIC-2T, VWIC-1MFT-E1, PVDM2-16
1841 with WIC-2T (good for travel study)
2811 with NME-16ES-1G-P, WIC-2T, WIC-1ADSL, WIC-1BS/T, VWIC-1MFT-G703
2811 with WIC-2T, VWIC-4FXS/DID, VWIC-1MFT-E1, VWIC-2MFT-G703, PVDM2-16
2811 with WIC-2T, VWIC-4FXS/DID, VWIC2-4FXO, VWIC-2MFT-G703, PVDM2-16

Everything has max'd out memory etc.

At the side, awaiting a home or for spares:
1801 (will replace my internet router when I'm confident I won't get hacked)
'Reclaimed' oldish laptop
APC network-controlled PDU
Huawei Quidway S3500 L3 switch, with 1000base-T GBICs
Old 3Com switch for spare parts (already used one fan in the Netgear)

In the attic rack:
HP ML110 server, running a few VMs on ESXi including my domain server
Dell PE2800 (nearly broke my back getting that into the attic on stepladders!)
Dell PE1650
Dell PV775 (basically a PE2650 with extra SCSI)
3Com 4500G-48 with 1000base-SX fibre link to my internet router downstairs
3Com 2824-SFP-Plus (not used now I have the 4500G)
Comtrol eight-port serial console server
A bunch of 3Com PoE injectors for my APs around the house.

And more to come - I'm a kit monster!
Pirates >> Ninjas

Why are Pirates better than Ninjas? Because they Yarr!

Retired Account
Post Whore
Posts:
3512
Joined:
Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:10 pm

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:48 pm

:shock:

User avatar
Syncursion
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:31 am
Certs:
CCNA

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:22 pm

@Foxyrick - That's an awesome setup man. I bet you could spend hours showing someone the ins and outs of it.



Me and a friend have been working together on a project we call "DarkNet". We works with Microsoft services, while I work with Cisco services. So in order to learn from one another, I used GNS3 to build him a virtual "Internet", or a backbone if you will, so that he can add VMs of servers and such and we can both experiment. I focused all of my attention on building an efficient network, with a working DNS server (8.8.8.8 being a fitting IP, right?). Everything is currently working as intended, and we even re-created a few websites by saving them to a virtual webserver and creating the domain name =D.

In the screenshot is an overview of the topology, some VMs on my end (not his) and a few console windows listing some information. This is a fairly recent start, we plan on making much more out of this.

Image

Retired Account
Post Whore
Posts:
3512
Joined:
Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:10 pm

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:16 am

That's pretty cool :)

User avatar
wintermute000
Post Whore
Posts:
1008
Joined:
Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:40 pm

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:14 am

My home lab

6x C1841 routers, 15.1(4)M5, Advanced Enterprise Services
4x C3560-24TS multilayer switches, 15.0(2)SE5, IP Services
2x C3560-8PCS multilayer switches 15.0(2)SE5, IP Services
16 port Avocent Cyclades console server (all devices' console ports are wired up for handy access :))
old Core 2 Duo thinkpad as lab 'server'

I leave it powered off unless I'm using it, flick of a (few) powerboard buttons and we're in business.

rack.jpg
rack.jpg (105.59 KiB) Viewed 4975 times

simon12
New Member
Posts:
3
Joined:
Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:09 am
Certs:
n/a

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Fri Jan 24, 2014 8:56 pm

nice one, hope to have like this... :P :P :P
http://ny.pe

AnthonyC
Junior Member
Posts:
63
Joined:
Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:35 am

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:21 pm

This is probably one of the best GNS3 labs that I have seen (my coworker built this lab); it has DMVPN, MPLS with Traffic Eng., fully integrated with a AD/Exchange environment and ASA. It is simulating 2 ISPs with different DCs.
Attachments
GNS3_Lab.jpg
GNS3_Lab.jpg (88.15 KiB) Viewed 4708 times

User avatar
seittit
Senior Member
Posts:
335
Joined:
Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:00 pm

wintermute000 wrote:
rack.jpg


me gusta

annynaj10
New Member
Posts:
3
Joined:
Thu May 14, 2015 11:29 pm
Certs:
SEO

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Thu May 14, 2015 11:33 pm

Hello.....I'm working on making a redundant link through the internet in case the p2p or one of the internet connections is lost that it will be dynamical adjusted until the line is back up.

http://www.skoolpost.com, http://www.skoolpost.com, http://www.skoolpost.com, http://www.skoolpost.com

annynaj10
New Member
Posts:
3
Joined:
Thu May 14, 2015 11:29 pm
Certs:
SEO

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Fri May 15, 2015 1:08 am


5y5+3m
New Member
Posts:
4
Joined:
Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:44 pm

I read all the thread here but still i cant fully understand how to read the network diagram. Hmmpp wish i could so that i can relate o you guys

gfhgasgac
New Member
Posts:
3
Joined:
Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:44 am

Re: Official "post pics of your network" thread

Thu Nov 12, 2015 3:17 am

I'm working on making a redundant link through the internet in case the p2p or one of the internet connections is lost that it will be dynamical adjusted until the line is back up.

'
Previous

Return to Forum Lobby

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests