Community ForumCommunity Wiki * Blog Home  * Log in

Cisco CCNA Certification Exam Changes

posted in Certifications
by on July 15th, 2013 tags: , , ,

On March 26, 2013, Cisco introduced new certification exams for ICND1, ICND2, and CCNA. In addition to content changes, there is also a significant change to the exam sequence structure.

This is a summary of these changes to the CCNA certification exams. The information is based on a number of public Cisco sources. For complete and official information about the CCNA certification exams refer to

Retiring CCNA Certification Exams

The current CCNA related exams retire on 30 September 2013:

CCNA certification is achieved by either passing the composite 640-802 exam or the 640-822 ICND1 exam and then the 640-816 ICND2 exam.

The retiring CCNA certification is the prerequisite for the CCNA specializations and for the three exam CCNP Routing and Switching certification.

New CCNA Certification Exams

Exam 640-822 ICND1 is being replaced by 100-101 ICND1.
Exam 640-816 ICND2 is being replaced by 200-101 ICND2.
Exam 640-802 CCNA is being replaced by 200-120 CCNA.

In addition, CCENT certification now becomes a foundational certification and replaces CCNA as the prerequisite for these associate-level advanced technology certifications:

After passing the new 100-101 ICND1 exam and so becoming CCENT certified, you have the foillowing choices:

Beginning on October 1, 2013, the CCENT certification will become a prerequisite to achieving the CCDA (640-864 DESGN exam) certification.

Note: CCNA Service Provider and CCNA Data Center do not require CCENT as a prerequisite. CCNA Video is also stated as not requiring a prerequisite but given that 640-461 ICOMM is one of the required exams then the reality is that this certification does require completion of the CCENT first.

Exam Content Changes

Cisco states that:

"The updates include comprehensive troubleshooting, IPv6, and the latest Cisco® routing and switching technology and software. The exams are changing to reflect the evolution of industry job roles."

However, with the CCENT replacing the CCNA as the prerequisite for everything, the ICND1 exam now contains a lot of former ICND2 content. We now find that previously high-end CCNA topics are now in the new CCENT, and some current CCNP Route and CCNP Switch topics have been moved down to the new CCNA Routing and Switching certification.

The good news is that some topics have been removed from the ICND1/CCNA exams.

100-101 ICND1

Topics removed from the 100-101 ICND1 Exam:

New topics and topics moved from the ICND2 exam have raised the technical level of the CCENT.

Topics added to the 100-101 ICND1 Exam:

200-101 ICND2

These topics have been removed from the 200-101 ICND2 Exam:

New topics added to the 200-101 ICND2 Exam:

200-120 CCNA

If you are considering the 200-120 CCNA exam then note that all moved and new exam topics are included in that exam. In summary, these are the removed topics.

These topics have been removed from the 200-120 CCNA Exam:

New topics added to the 200-120 CCNA Exam:


The CCENT now has the status of the broad introduction to networking certification that the CCNA had 10 years ago and has become correspondingly more difficult. It now requires both broader and deeper study of it’s topics to attain success.


A thread has been created on the site forum specifically for commenting on this blog post.